

MINUTES

of the City Services Committee
held in the Committee Room, Botany Town Hall
Corner of Edward Street and Botany Road, Botany
on Wednesday 13 November 2024 at 6:36 PM

Present

The Mayor, Councillor Edward McDougall Councillor Joe Awada, Chairperson Councillor Soraya Kassim, Deputy Chairperson Councillor Janin Bredehoeft Councillor Christina Curry Councillor Vicki Poulos Councillor Peter Strong

Also present

Councillor Liz Barlow (via audio-visual link)
Councillor Chris Saravinovski (via audio-visual link)
Meredith Wallace, General Manager
Debra Dawson, Director City Life
Bobbi Mayne, Manager Libraries and Lifestyle
Hong Nguyen, Manager Environment and Resilience
Helen Tola, Manager Governance & Risk
Karen Barrass, Lead Governance
Joanne Butler, Corporate Planner
Anh Hoang, Governance Officer
Nabin Bhattarai, IT Service Management Officer

The Mayor, Councillor McDougall opened the meeting in the Committee Room, Botany Town Hall, at 6:36 pm.

1 Acknowledgement of Country

The Mayor, Councillor McDougall affirmed that Bayside Council acknowledges the traditional custodians the Gadigal and Bidjigal people of the Eora nation, and pays respects to Elders past, present and emerging. The people of the Eora nation, their spirits and ancestors will always remain with our waterways and the land, our Mother Earth.

2 Apologies, Leave of Absence & Attendance via Audio-Visual Link

Apologies

There were no apologies received.

Leave of Absence

There were no applications for Leave of Absence received.

Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link

There were no Committee members in attendance via audio-visual link.

3 Disclosures of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest.

4 Minutes of Previous Meetings

4.1 Minutes of the City Services Committee Meeting - 7 August 2024

Committee Recommendation

Moved by Councillors Awada and Curry

That the Minutes of the City Services Committee meeting held on 7 August 2024 be noted.

4.2 Business Arising

The Committee notes that the Minutes of the City Services Committee of Wednesday 7 August 2024 were received and the recommendations therein were adopted by the Council at its meeting of 28 August 2024.

5 Items by Exception

There were no Items by Exception.

6 Public Forum

There were no speakers for Public Forum.

7 Reports

CS24.025 City Services Committee - Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson

Committee Recommendation

Moved by Councillors Awada and Kassim

That the City Services Committee elect Councillor Awada as Chairperson and elect Councillor Kassim as Deputy Chairperson up to September 2026.

Note: The Mayor, Councillor McDougall vacated the Chair and Councillor Awada assumed the Chair as Chairperson. The time being 6:38 pm.

CS24.026 Microplastics in Sydney Basin - Plans and Actions

Committee Recommendation

Moved by Councillors McDougall and Poulos

That the report on Microplastics in Sydney Basin - Plans and Actions is received and noted.

CS24.027 Response to Notice of Motion - Mascot Library Hours

Committee Recommendation

Moved by Councillors Curry and Kassim

- 1 That the report on Response to Notice of Motion Mascot Library Hours be received and noted.
- That the Mascot Library continues to remain open on Saturdays 9am-12pm (excluding public holidays and Christmas New Year period).

The next meeting will be held in the Committee Room, Botany Town Hall, on Wednesday, 4 December 2024.

The Chairperson closed the meeting at 6:44 pm.