

MINUTES

of the Extraordinary Botany Historical Trust held in the Mascot Library and George Hanna Memorial Museum 2 Hatfield Street, Mascot on Monday 4 November 2024 at 6:30 pm

Present

Robert Hanna, President Christopher Hanna, Senior Vice President Jacqueline Milledge, Vice President Richard Smolenski, Treasurer Warren Hensley, Committee Member Christina Curry, Councillor Scott Morrissey, Councillor Heather Bunton, Member Lenore Daley, Member Giovanna Fuoti, Member Carlyn Johnston, Member Neil Lee. Member Margaret Lee, Member Carole Nestor, Member Alan Nicholas, Member Maria Patti, Member Maria Pivitera, Member Pamela Richardson, Member Nerina Skrabut, Member Carla Smolenski, Member Lyle Underwood, Member Irene Vains, Member Amanda Wilson, Member

Also present

Bobbi Mayne, Manager Libraries and Lifestyle Helen Tola, Manager Governance and Risk Karen Barrass, Lead Governance Cate Kloos, Administration Officer Libraries and Lifestyle

The Chairperson opened the meeting in the Mascot Library and George Hanna Memorial Museum at 6:30pm.

1 Acknowledgement of Country

The Chairperson affirmed that Bayside Council acknowledges the traditional custodians: the Gadigal and Bidjigal people of the Eora nation, and pays respects to Elders past, present and emerging. The people of the Eora nation, their spirits and ancestors will always remain with our waterways and the land, our Mother Earth.

2 Apologies, Leave of Absence, Remote Attendance

Apologies

The following apologies were received:

Thelma Gardiner, Member Robert Middlemiss, Member Robert Brazil, Member

Leave of Absence

There were no applications for Leave of Absence received.

Attendance Via Audio-Visual Link

There were no Committee members in attendance via audio-visual link.

3 Disclosures of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest.

4 Minutes of Previous Meetings

4.1 Minutes of the Botany Historical Trust Meeting - 28 March 2022

Committee Resolution

That the Minutes of the Botany Historical Trust meeting held on 28 March 2022 be noted.

4.2 Business Arising

There was no Business Arising.

The Committee notes that the Minutes of the Botany Historical Trust of Monday 28 March 2022 were received and the recommendations therein were adopted by the Council at its meeting of 27 April 2022.

5 Reports

BHT24.001 Local History Update

Committee Resolution

That the BHT Executive note the report.

BHT24.002 President's Report - Robert Hanna

Rob Hanna presented the President's report.

Rob thanked Council staff Bobbi Mayne, Cate Kloos and former Local History Librarian, Alison Wishart for their support throughout the term.

Rob welcomed Cr Christina Curry and Cr Scott Morrisey who were appointed by the newly elected Council as the Councillor representatives on the BHT Executive Committee for the new term.

Committee Resolution

That the President's Report be noted.

Moved by Richard Smolenski Seconded by Warren Hensley

BHT24.003 Election of Office Bearers for the BHT Executive Committee

The Returning Officer was Manager Governance & Risk, Helen Tola.

She announced that the election will take place in accordance with the BHT Constitution dated February 2022. Ms Tola welcomed Councillors, BHT Executive Members, BHT General Members and staff. Ms Tola proposed that the voting will be by show of hands.

Ms Tola advised that Councillors Curry and Morrissey were endorsed at the Council Meeting held on 23 October 2024 as the Delegates on the Botany Historical Trust until September 2026.

Committee Resolution

That the BHT Executive agreed to voting by show of hands.

Moved by Richard Smolenski Seconded by Jacqueline Milledge The following positions were appointed:

President: Robert Hanna

One nomination was received to elect Robert Hanna No other nominations received. Robert accepted the position.

Senior Vice President:

One nomination was received for Jacqueline Milledge as Vice President No other nominations were received Jacqueline accepted the position.

Vice President:

One nomination was received for Christopher Hanna as Vice President No other nominations were received Christopher accepted the position.

Secretary:

One nomination was received for Warren Hensley as Secretary No other nominations were received Warren accepted the position.

Treasurer: Richard Smolenski

One nomination was received for Richard Smolenski for Treasurer No other nominations were received Richard accepted the position.

General Committee Member:

A nomination was received for Amanda Wilson, Lenore Daley, Anne Slattery and Nathan Brown. Only Amanda Wilson and Lenore Daley were present at the AGM. Amanda and Lenore accepted the position.

Committee Resolution

- 1 That the Botany Historical Trust members elect the nominated Executive Office Bearers in accordance with the BHT Constitution.
- 2 That the following nominated Executive Office Bearers be accepted in accordance with the BHT Constitution:

President: Senior Vice President: Vice President: Secretary: Treasurer: Committee Member: Committee Member: Councillor: Councillor: Robert Hanna Jacqueline Milledge Christopher Hanna Warren Hensley Richard Smolenski Amanda Wilson Lenore Daley Christina Curry Scott Morrissey

6 General Business

BHT24.004 New General Members

Committee Recommendation

That applications for general (non-Executive) members from Alison Wishart, Tina Workman, Jo Jansyn and Jenny Muscat were received.

President, Rob Hanna recommended that the applications are accepted, which was agreed to by the majority of attending BHT members.

Moved by Jacqueline Milledge Seconded by Richard Smolenski

BHT24.004A BHT Christmas Function

The BHT Christmas Function will take place on 10 December 2024 at 6pm for a 6:30pm start at Mascot Library and George Hanna Memorial Museum.

7 Next Meeting

That the next BHT Executive Meeting be held in the Mascot Library and George Hanna Memorial Museum at 6:30pm on Monday, 3 February 2025.

An Agenda Item for this meeting will be the recommendation up to three (3) community representatives and/or independent experts to be appointed by the General Manager on the recommendation of the Executive.

The Chairperson closed the meeting at 7:10pm.